Search your site

South African Horse Racing

Durban - South Africa

South African horse racing is a very popular sport and its history goes back almost as far as that of the UK. For those new to racing in South Africa this page offers wagering angles and regular tips. 

 South African Race Tips 03 August 2021

Vaal  - 11.50 BUCK'S FIZZ 

Vaal - 12.25   ABALUS

Vaal  - 15.25  NOW YOU SEE ME 

You might like these

Modern communications enable horse racing fans anywhere in the world to become involved.

The aim of this webpage is to educate punters new to South African horse racing. This will include the following areas:

Race tracks - Trainers - Jockeys - Horses - Races - Governing Bodies

Race Tracks:

Eastern Cape - Arlington Racecourse, Fairview

Free State - Vaal Racecourse,

Gauteng - North Rand Training Centre, Turffontein Racecourse

Kwazulu-Natal - Clairwood Turf Club, Greyville Turf Club, Scottsville Racecourse

Northern Cape - Flamingo Park Racecourse

Western Cape - Durbanville Racecourse, Kenilworth Racecourse


Top 10 Trainer records 1 August 2018 - 30 July 2019:

Name and Total Prize Money SA Rand

S.G. Tarry                     30,710,225.00

S.J. Snaith                     25,196,312.50

M.F. de Kock                   23,012,612.50

B.J Crawford                   13,688,900.00

A.C. Greef                       12,562,012.50

P. Peter                           12,562,012.50

C.L. Bass-Robinson(Mrs)  10,563,975.00

Y. Bremner                        9,719,425.00

G Kotzen                           8,119,962.50


Top 10 Jockey records 1 August 2018 - 30 July 2019:

Name                                    Stakes

L. Hewitson                         27,305,950.00

Mr M A Yeni                         20,211,875.00

Mr A Marcus                         33,090,337.50

Mr G J Lerena                      21,260,437.50

Mr G M Cheyne                     12,959,675.00

Mr R D Fourie                          22,792,662.50

W Kennedy                              17,218,525.00

R Munger                                 11,787,400.00

K de Melo                                 11,503,912.50

B Fayd'Herbe                             10,116,587.50

Mucho Macho Man


Top 10 Horse records 1 August 2018 - 30 July 2019:

Name                                         Stakes

HAWWAAM                           5,628,125.002

DO IT AGAIN                        5,102,500.003

RAINBOW BRIDGE             4,895,000.004

CIRILLO                               4,476,000.005

ONE WORLD                         3,115,625.006

TWIST OF FATE                   2,777,500.007

SOQRAT                               2,066,250.008

KASIMIR                                1,813,000.009

RETURN FLIGHT                  1,622,350.0010

TILBURY FORT                     1,556,700.00

Major Races

There are 3 principle races 

1. The Summer Cup takes place in Johannesburg

2. The J & B Met takes place at Kenilworth Racecourse

3. The Durban July takes place in Durban

South African Horse Racing Authorities

South African horse racing is regulated by 2 bodies:

1. Phumelala Gaming and Leisure Ltd who cover The Free State, the Northern Cape, The Eastern Cape and Gauteng.

2. Gold Circle who cover the Western Cape and Kwazulu-Natal.

Back to homepage from South African Horse Racing

Horse Racing Blogs Expertido

Return to Homepage

Returns Policy: Once a customer has agreed to pay for a product or service no returns will be permitted or payments returned.

All PayPal transactions are subject to the PayPal Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy: Personal details provided to this site by an individual may be shared with third parties unless requested otherwise.

Above policies updated 15 March 2018