Feeling Lucky? This 5,196/1 Royal Ascot ACCA Might Change Your Life (Seriously!)

Can a horse be entered in a race if it has been nerved above the ankle

Can a horse be entered in a race if it has been nerved above the ankle.

Answer: Nerving or de-nerving is usually performed below the ankle as that is the area most likely to cause a horse pain.

In the United States the rules of racing allow this to happen enabling the horse to continue its racing career free of pain. A recording of the operation is entered onto a list.

Although the effects of the operation can wear off in time as the nerves in the foot regenerate.

In the U.K. the procedure is prohibited and a horse would not be able to continue racing under rules.

The same rules are likely to apply whether the operation is above or below the knee.

Click here to post comments which will appear on the page under the original Post

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Invitation 6 - Questions.

Horse Racing Blogs

Return to Homepage


Returns Policy: Once a customer has agreed to pay for a product or service no returns will be permitted or payments returned.

All PayPal transactions are subject to the PayPal Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy: Personal details provided to this site by an individual may be shared with third parties unless requested otherwise.

Above policies updated 15 March 2018