Search your site

Horse Racing Blogs

Withdrawn Horse

by Colin Mulholland

Withdrawn Horse

Withdrawn Horse

The horse I bet on was withdrawn; is this the same as a non runner?

Answer: If a horse is withdrawn before the race start it is considered a non runner and the stake is returned.

However if the horse comes under starters orders and then refuses to race you lose your stake.

If your bet was an ante post bet and the horse is subsequently withdrawn before the race, you will also lose your stake.

Comments for Withdrawn Horse

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 06, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Placepot
by: Anonymous

My place pot selection leg5 was in an eight field race places 1 2 3 when I Staked my bet prior to the off a horse withdrew reducing the field to 7 places 1 2 - this has lost me a large payout how is this fair.

It's not fair of course but unfortunately, the punter does not get to write the rules for these bets.

Mar 01, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Withdrawn horse
by: Anonymous

What happens if you have a double and one selection wins but the other is withdrawn

Answer: The bet still stands but the double becomes a single with a payout for the winner

Jun 04, 2018
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Withdrawn in a placepot
by: JamieBhoyi

My horse was withdrawn in a placepot - does it go to favourite?

Answer: Yes the withdrawn selection is replaced with the favourite. In the case of co-favourites it is the horse with the lower race order number.

Nov 30, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Withdrawn out Southwell
by: Chris

As the horse (Frown?) refused to enter the stalls it is considered withdrawn and your stake is returned.

A bet would not be placed for you on the new 2nd favourite.

Price at time of withdrawal 3-1. Rule 4 applies to all bets - deduction 25p in the pound.

Nov 28, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Non runners
by: Anonymous

My selection was 2nd fav in 12.40 southwell it wouldn't enter stalls ,no new market formed ,does this mean my selection is a non runner or am I on the third favourite ?

Jan 13, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Withdrawn horses a con
by: Allan Fleming

Basically if you put a horse on and it gets withdrawn even though it never got into the stall you lose your money. How can this be a fair bet when your horse doesn't even start the race.Its a joke the betting industry is getting away with this con .Everyone who put the withdrawn horse on even if it's under orders you should get at least your money back .as this means if it's the favourite you've selected on a placepot for example your beat as there isn't a favourite in the race. Surely the fair way would be the lowest price horse in the rest of the runners would become favourite but apparently there's no favourite a pure con that makes me sick .

Mar 30, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
withdrawn horse
by: norm

How do we know if a withdrawn horse is under
starters orders if I did not see the race?

Answer: If you check the results on the Racing Post website it will state whether the horse was withdrawn.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Invitation 6 - Questions.