Feeling Lucky? This 5,196/1 Royal Ascot ACCA Might Change Your Life (Seriously!)

Jockeys Championship

by Terry
(Newcastle on Tyne)

Jockeys in the pre-parade ring

Jockeys in the pre-parade ring

Now that it's finished how is the remainder of winners counted, as flat racing is still going on?

Answer: According to the Professional Jockeys Association 'The Flat Jockeys Championship is decided on winners of both Flat and All Weather races taking place from the Guineas Festival on Saturday 1st May 2021 to British Champions Day at Ascot on Saturday 16th October 2021.'

Any races outside of these dates will not be included in the Championship.

The annual season record of winners for jockeys was first published in 1846. In 2009 the championship was sponsored for the first time, initially by 32Red and currently by Stobart Group.

Originally the season for flat winners ran between Doncaster's Lincoln Handicap Day which was open to horses of 4yo+ over a mile and the November Handicap, open to horses of 3yo+ at the same course and run over 1m4f.

This was changed in 2015 to the current arrangement which means it now runs for just 24 weeks compared to the original 32 weeks.

A prize fund was also established in 2015 where £25,000 is paid to the winner and £10,000 to the runner up.

The winner in 2021 is Oisin Murphy with 153 wins and the runner up is William Buick with 151.

The all time winning-most title goes to Gordon Richards with 26 wins who also tops the table of most wins in a season with 269

Click here to post comments which will appear on the page under the original Post

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Invitation 6 - Questions.

Horse Racing Blogs

Return to Homepage


Returns Policy: Once a customer has agreed to pay for a product or service no returns will be permitted or payments returned.

All PayPal transactions are subject to the PayPal Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy: Personal details provided to this site by an individual may be shared with third parties unless requested otherwise.

Above policies updated 15 March 2018